3 Replies - 615 Views - Last Post: 01 April 2017 - 08:25 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

General Programming Qs (Just want someone to talk out my issues with)

Posted 01 April 2017 - 04:00 PM

Hey! I am a 15 year old in highschool and I have worked extremely hard in school. I am taking a APCS course right now and have really liked it. I've taken it upon myself to learn python and I think this could be my career. I have a couple questions. What are the benefits of going to college for programming? My whole life I've worked for straight As but now I have seen the countless stories of people succeeding beyond belief and being self-taught! Just the other day I was at a hackathon and the CTO explained to me how he was self-taught. A second question is how many languages would I need to know for say application-type programming? I know python and JS are good for getting things done quickly and efficiently but I just want to know the scope of what I might be taking on. I like to plan. One of my last questions is how the job outlook REALLY is. I have read the projections but I know often estimates do not model the real world terribly well. Since most of you probably are working class people I just want to know basic stuff like networking, career progression, general work day etc. Anyone who doesn't have time to answer please don't feel forced to just exit! I am simply looking for a teacher to begin my journey with! Thanks :)

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: General Programming Qs (Just want someone to talk out my issues with)

#2 jon.kiparsky  Icon User is online

• Screw Trump (before he screws you)
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: General Programming Qs (Just want someone to talk out my issues with)

Posted 01 April 2017 - 05:26 PM

What are the benefits of going to college for programming?