8 Replies - 986 Views - Last Post: 03 April 2017 - 09:18 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Different Degrees

Posted 02 April 2017 - 02:18 AM

Hey everyone,

I'm currently looking to enroll into an online university paid for by my work. I'm torn between a few degrees, when I was in high school I was extremely interested in computers. Once I graduated I sort of veered away from computers and such. I currently work in law enforcement so I was going towards a Criminal Justice degree, but recently I've really been getting interested in programming and computers again. I'm by no means gifted in programming, I'm a noob.

I feel as if I want to make a career out of something with computers rather than law enforcement. I am quite unsure on if I should get a broad degree such as Computer Science, or get a degree such as Software Application Development, Web Programming, or Cyber Security. I'm not quite sure what I want to do yet with computers, but I know it's something that's why I'm leaning more towards the Computer Science degree. I'd like to get your thoughts and opinions on this.

Thank you for taking time to view my thread.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Different Degrees

• void main'ers are DOOMED
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Different Degrees

Posted 02 April 2017 - 02:34 AM

How long have you been in LE / away from academia?

Computer Forensics seems like a good mix between what you're doing now and where your interests are heading.

A full on CS degree will be heavily theoretical (and mathematical).
Computer science is no more about computers than astronomy is about telescopes.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 02 April 2017 - 02:40 AM

View PostSalem_c, on 02 April 2017 - 02:34 AM, said:

How long have you been in LE / away from academia?

Computer Forensics seems like a good mix between what you're doing now and where your interests are heading.