3 Replies - 762 Views - Last Post: 01 September 2017 - 03:24 AM

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Top Books to learn Calculus and Discrete Mathematics?

Posted 07 May 2017 - 02:58 PM

I've got a problem. I'm currently studying at the University.

As a self-taught programmer, I learned to learn this on my own. I'm not so into teachers to teach me things as I've discovered so far because I have no discipline to follow their orders, their schedule etc.

So, after some time thinking, I've decided to take the same way I've taken with Programming. Self-Teaching. And when I'll confront difficulties I'll ask the professor in the University what I'm doing wrong.

But to do this, I probably don't won't poor-written books that were made just to be sold. I want books that were made to actually teach, with simplicity, great writing and explanations all over the book.

I want Mathematics to be one of my Hobbies in the IT Culture. I mean I actually LIKE Mathematics. But every time I'm stuck somewhere and I don't know where to search, how to know the answer. It's not like in Programming where you will write "Why there is this bug". Because bugs that you can't fix yourself don't happen often, and programming in overall is not hard to be taught. Things like:

Why ....... Cn = c1 + 2 + ... + (n-2) + (n-1) + n
Equals to Cn = (N(n+1)) / 2

When I confront stuff like these I want to know WHY this equals to that. I want it to be like Programming, to know how to build a solution yourself from the bottom-up.

TL;DR; I'm not the best in Calculus and I just started learning Discrete Mathematics. What books are preferable in this case? So I can start Mathematics as a hobby and be good at it by practicing?

This post has been edited by general656: 07 May 2017 - 03:18 PM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Top Books to learn Calculus and Discrete Mathematics?

#2 jon.kiparsky  Icon User is online

• Chinga la migra
  • member icon

• View blog