4 Replies - 641 Views - Last Post: 10 May 2017 - 01:54 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Am I cut out for Computer Science?

Posted 10 May 2017 - 11:43 AM

Let's say I have an average IQ (not sure what my IQ is) and that I was a straight F student in high school for lack of trying (this is true). Currently, my knowledge in mathematics is limited; I still need to take pre-calc for example. That's not to say I'm naturally bad in mathematics. I just never did anything in high school. Although it may be the case that I am bad in mathematics. I guess I'll find out soon enough.

I've taken CS 101 and CS 102 at a state college and I did reasonably well. I got an A+ and a B+, respectively. My performance in CS 102 was partly due to me not knowing what to focus on because my professor wasn't the best.

Regardless, I've been having some second thoughts on my Computer Science major. I've been asking myself am I smart enough. Is this a stupid question? Is this the wrong question?

I want to become a more logical thinker. I want to become good at math. I want to become smarter. I like riddles. I like computers. I want to become formidable in programming to the point where I can create a video game. However, a person can like something and not be good at it. Should I worry about that? Or should I just buckle down and study Computer Science?

Can anyone here identify with what I'm trying to say here?

I apologize for the ambiguity.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Am I cut out for Computer Science?

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Am I cut out for Computer Science?

Posted 10 May 2017 - 11:49 AM

Is this a stupid question? Is this the wrong question?

Yes, and yes.

I want to become a more logical thinker. I want to become good at math. I want to become smarter. I like riddles.

You know there are books on that that are cheaper than, say, college tuition. ;)