3 Replies - 671 Views - Last Post: 14 May 2017 - 04:08 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

In need of advice about where to go in the programming world

Posted 13 May 2017 - 04:24 PM

Hello,

I've been coding for around 10 years now, mainly as a failed independent game developer. I say failed because nothing ever really
came of all that work except being quite good at coding/scripting. Which can probably get me somewhere in general programming, but game programming requires working on projects for years, buying assets like graphics/music (if you don't make them yourself, or have a team - which I am lacking), and various other things.

So, now I want to try my hand at just programming/development, of the non gaming kind, but - and this is going to sound stupid - I have no idea what moves I should make in order to be able to work as a freelance programmer. I've got some things on GitHub, and was thinking of making some basic applications to kind of show that I know how stuff works, like a simple Calculator in C# (Using WPF), but would that just be a waste of time? Do people look at that stuff when considering a programmer for something?

Another problem is I don't really have any non-gaming ideas for programming. It's easy to come up with a new game concept, but trying to think of an app idea that someone hasn't done, or that I could do better just draws a blank in my mind.

So, I decided to join here to ask, after spending a few hours trying to select a programming community.
Thank you for taking the time to read this.

Any chance I can get some advice on all this?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: In need of advice about where to go in the programming world

#2 macosxnerd101  Icon User is online

• Games, Graphs, and Auctions
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: In need of advice about where to go in the programming world

Posted 13 May 2017 - 04:37 PM