11 Replies - 1374 Views - Last Post: 28 May 2017 - 08:42 AM Rate Topic: ***-- 2 Votes

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Text Based MMORPG

Posted 15 May 2017 - 12:47 AM

I want to make a Text based MMORPG. I have little programming background (not very high though). I don't want any high graphics game, i even dont want to implement sounds. I want to create something like Gates of Survival (https://www.gatesofsurvival.com). So please enlighten me how to begin with, you can consider this as my learning experience, in which my first step is to make a clone of this game. I heard PHP is the best language for such games thats why i posted question in PHP Section.

I will continue my development as per the guidance received from you guys.
I also installed EasyPHP Webserver to allow others to see what i made.

Please guide me the initial steps, and what resources (like easyphp) should i use, proper coding language or anything you guys can help me, whatever you tell me i will do, and in case if problems are encountered i will ask here, so this thread can be considered as long term mmo development thread and also tutorial for the future readers :)

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Text Based MMORPG

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Text Based MMORPG

Posted 15 May 2017 - 06:48 AM

So that's a pretty tall task. You want folk to design it and you just implement it? How about you design it and see how that process goes? You know.. eyeball functionality needs, display UI needs, user interaction needs, data storage/retrieval needs, etc. Taking that information, and your platform requirements, should help direct your project on your terms.

As it is - in the php tutorial section, a few years back, we had a member submit a series of mafia-esque game tutorials. You may get some ideas from that.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 baavgai  Icon User is online

• Dreaming Coder
  • member icon

• View blog