Ruby as starting language

• (2 Pages)
  • +

20 Replies - 7833 Views - Last Post: 16 July 2008 - 08:25 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Ruby as starting language

Posted 06 January 2008 - 08:00 AM

Okay I want to get started in computer programing and Ruby looked like a good choice. I'm looking to program games for the most part and I've only programed text games on my TI-84+. I Also know a little bit of html. Is ruby a good starting language?
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Ruby as starting language

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Ruby as starting language

Posted 06 January 2008 - 08:48 AM

I have no personal experience, because I am learning Ruby too but one of the reasons that I chose Ruby for was people saying how easy and useful it is to be your first language.

Plus, with Ruby on Rails (which is pretty close to Ruby) you can program online games too! ;)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 06 January 2008 - 11:56 AM

It really doesn't matter what language you start with, just pick a modern day language that supports the object oriented paradigm and you'll pretty much know how to program in any language.
Ruby is nice though, and it wouldn't hurt to start learning how to program with it.

Plus, with Ruby on Rails (which is pretty close to Ruby) you can program online games too! wink2.gif

Umm, yeah it doesn't just come close, it is Ruby!
But side note, yes rails is awesome.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 07 January 2008 - 01:44 PM

View Postspullen, on 6 Jan, 2008 - 08:56 PM, said:

Plus, with Ruby on Rails (which is pretty close to Ruby) you can program online games too! wink2.gif

Is it? I have no idea about Network Programming (hope I got the term right) & thought there are some other things involved too.

This post has been edited by SebKom: 07 January 2008 - 01:46 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -