Page 1 of 1

Parsing HTML in x64 assembly - Part I

• The programming dinosaur
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 30 June 2017 - 11:12 AM

Introduction

It has been quite a while since I have submitted a tutorial here on DreamInCode, and as I am back from whatever I have been doing for the last 6 years, I thought it would be interesting to write a parser for HTML5 in x64 assembler.

Now this might seem a little strange at first as the browsers such as Firefox, Google Chrome, Microsoft Edge etc do a pretty good job. However, it is not my intention to write a browser (or is it?) but to purvey some quite interesting design and coding techniques during this process. Let's see how it goes!

Design Boxes

If we look at HTML5 source, we have a set of tags and end tags with text between. That would lead us to believe that a simple XML parser would do the trick and that would be relatively straight forward to program. A recursive routine would do the trick as follows in pseudo-code.

node structure
    next_node as node
    previous_node as node
    first_child_node as node
    last_child_node as node
end node structure

return_tag = parse_html with pointer to first_node and pointer to last_node
    1. read a new_tag
    2. if the new_tag is an end_of_file tag go to step 7
    3. if this is an end tag go to step 7
    4. create a new node with the name of the new_tag and chain it into the tree using the first_node and last_node on the call
    5. call parse_html with the new_tag, first_child_node and last_child_node of the node just created
    6. if the return tag from parse_html matches the new_tag go to step 1
    7. return current_tag
end parse_html

OK. Let's dry run the pseudo code with <HTML><HEAD><TITLE>Dry Run Test</TITLE></HEAD><BODY></BODY></HTML>.

(0) parse_html with a pointer to first node and pointer to last node
(1) Parse_html step 1 : read a new tag ... <HTML> is now our new tag