5 Replies - 884 Views - Last Post: 07 July 2017 - 05:29 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

I want to be a programmer

Posted 05 July 2017 - 11:49 AM

Hello

I'm Tal, live in Israel. (My name, Tal, means dew in Hebrew)

I was born on oct 1988 (28 years old while I'm writing this posr).
I never had anything to do with programming in my life, and I would like to give it a try and see if I can learn how to be a programmer.
The main reason for this is that here in Israel, and I guess almost anywhere around the world, programmers can make good money. In Israel they get 3 times more than the avarage salary.
When I attended to college, I studied a B.A in philosophy, and I really loved it, but I have nothing to do with my degree in the job market.
I dont want to attend to college again and study computer science, I want to learn programming all by my self.
do you think that I'm wasting my time? is it really important to study math with programming or I can be a good programmer without study any math?
Do you think that tech companies like Google, Apple and etc will give a chance to a self taught programmer?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: I want to be a programmer

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: I want to be a programmer

Posted 05 July 2017 - 11:55 AM

do you think that I'm wasting my time?

If you don't then I won't.

is it really important to study math with programming or I can be a good programmer without study any math?

Abstract problem solving helps. Math in some areas, sure.. concepts like 'variables' etc help.

Do you think that tech companies like Google, Apple and etc will give a chance to a self taught programmer?

Maybe.. then again there are *OTHER* companies out there.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 jon.kiparsky  Icon User is online

• Chinga la migra
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 05 July 2017 - 12:49 PM

View PostTal_M, on 05 July 2017 - 01:49 PM, said: