10 Replies - 372 Views - Last Post: 07 July 2017 - 10:19 AM

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Serving/Accessing Non-Public Assets

Posted 05 July 2017 - 07:47 PM

I've never worked with web administration before. This stuff goes over my head. *insert Peanut gif here*
I have a web app project on a local virtual host using the Mac application MAMP. My file directory looks like the following...
Posted Image
And I can't get the CSS file in /web to recognize the images in /assets/images, even though my PHP scripts can see the templates (and I know about PHP not caring about directory visibility and such) and I was wondering what steps I could take to serve images from /assets from the index.php without creating a php script just for returning images.

Thank you!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Serving/Accessing Non-Public Assets

• Professor Snuggly Pants
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Serving/Accessing Non-Public Assets

Posted 06 July 2017 - 05:58 AM

I would first check the server logs. It should be logging errors with what it can't reach when attempted. My suspicion is directory permissions.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 06 July 2017 - 10:13 AM

If web is your web directory root, so that nothing above or on the same level is accessible from the browser, then other than a server-side script like PHP to send the headers and file data for that stuff you could create a symbolic link to that directory from web. So you can create a symbolic link in the web directory called images and point it to /assets/images, so that any requests to the images directory go to that other directory. The web server will still need permission to read those files though.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Posted 06 July 2017 - 05:49 PM