5 Replies - 687 Views - Last Post: 19 August 2017 - 02:02 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

script language vs. programming language

Posted 17 August 2017 - 06:40 PM

Hey I'm shawn and i am new to programming. I was just wondering if someone could explain in depth the difference between scripting and a programming language. Thanks in advanced!!
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: script language vs. programming language

• Chinga la migra
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: script language vs. programming language

Posted 17 August 2017 - 08:59 PM

It's pretty much a distinction without a difference, if you ask me. It goes way back to the '80s, when you had "real languages" like C that you'd use to write big applications that needed to be compiled and linked and so forth, and you had "scripting languages" like bash and awk and sed for writing little local utilities for sysadmin tasks or filesystem maintenance or power editing or whatnot. Then Larry Wall produced Perl, which was originally designed to replace the scripting languages and put all of the sysadmin's toolkit into one language - sort of a swiss army knife language. While Perl's not a truly great language - I haven't seen the latest revisions, but the language that I learned way back when was renowned for cryptic and unmaintainable code - it did demonstrate that it was possible for a language to bridge the gap between "programming languages" and "scripting languages". It was possible to bang together a little perl script to munge messy text into usable form, and it was also possible to write nontrivial code to solve sizable problems.
Again, not trying to make a case for Perl in 2017, it had a lot of problems and it's not in common use today because other languages ate its lunch, but once Perl happened, the "scripting" versus "programming" distinction was shown to be an artifact of coincidence.