5 Replies - 723 Views - Last Post: 20 August 2017 - 10:43 AM

• Nero

• View blog

So I thought of a clever way to fight for Net Neutrality

Posted 19 August 2017 - 10:11 PM

Something my old roommate said to me once has always stuck with me. "Imagine what we could accomplish of no one cared who got credit."

This is something I think is brilliant and hasn't been considered, that turns the tables on the Net Neutrality 'discussion.' That said, I don't think I'm a particularly brilliant programmer and there are probably a million better ways to do this.

Basically the idea is to flip it around. Netflix has paid I don't know how much money to Comcast and Verizon to be 'allowed' to stream data to those networks. As if their customers weren't paying to have the data streamed to them.

So why can't two play at that game? Refuse to allow their customers to access your website! 'Sorry bro, your ISP doesn't play nice, so we've blocked them.' Why aren't we doing that? I mean I get it, no one's going to care about not being able to access theiraccomplices.com - but imagine if Netflix implemented this, or CNN, Google. Any major website that tens or hundreds of thousands of users suddenly lost access to because of their ISP's stance on Net Neutrality. Told, "hey, this is why you can't access it. Your ISP needs to fix that, nothing we can do."

I feel like this is a big idea, and I feel like better coders with this seed planted could do wonders with it. So here's an example in PHP. This is straightforward and could be worked into any service.

$userhostname = gethostbyaddr($_SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR']);

if (HostIsEvil($userhostname)){
		echo 'Your ISP is an enemy of Net Neutrality and has been denied access to this website. Please contact your ISP to regain access.';
		}else
		{
			echo 'Insert some code here to load your page';
		}

function HostIsEvil($userhostname)
		{
			$evilhosts = array('rr.com', 'comcast.com');
			foreach ($evilhosts as $evilhostname)
			{