[HELP] Is it okay to be this kind of programmer?

• (2 Pages)
  • +

21 Replies - 2930 Views - Last Post: 19 September 2017 - 07:57 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

[HELP] Is it okay to be this kind of programmer?

Posted 25 August 2017 - 12:00 AM

Hi guys, I am already having a doubt in myself whether to pursue programming as a career or not. I love learning, and I want to get better at programming. But I dont find myself getting better at it.

I have a diploma in computer technology. But to be honest, I feel like I cheated my way to finish it.

Why do I feel that way? Because if I cant solve the problem, I google the solutions. I finished college being like that. Now im out of college, I am unhireable and I am not surprised.

I want to get better.. I really want to. In fact, I'm done with codecademy, I purchase courses in udemy, tried other online courses like udacity, freecodecamp etc. I regularly watch tutorial videos in youtube. But I still cant solve problems on my own.. If I will try to solve simple algorithm problem, for sure I'll end up googling for solutions. I dont feel good about it.. I feel like Im just doing what I did when I was in college. Is it okay to be like this? I can finish a project, but I google most of the solutions. If not, how can I improve my problem solving skills. I always end up googling for solutions. Is it okay to be a google programmer?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: [HELP] Is it okay to be this kind of programmer?

• Lord of Schwing
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: [HELP] Is it okay to be this kind of programmer?

Posted 25 August 2017 - 02:52 AM

this is one of those fields that you can be in for years and still feel like you have no idea what you're doing. the complexity of the problems you approach and what you google will vary with experience but you'll still find guys with a lot more experience looking at their screens thinking wtf.

If it's what you want to do, stick with it and keep practicing.