js bug on site

Page 1 of 1

12 Replies - 544 Views - Last Post: 11 September 2017 - 01:32 PM

#1 g00se  Icon User is online

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 3425
  • View blog
  • Posts: 15,499
  • Joined: 20-September 08

js bug on site

Posted 07 September 2017 - 12:58 AM

See below

Quote

script on this page rnay be busy. or it may have stopped responding. You can stop the
dpt now. open the script in the debugger. or let the script continue.
ScdPt haP://www.dreamincode.net/for...blicAs5rdparty/prototype.js:81
°Dont a. me again
Debug script I
op scd
Contim. I

Script url is in fact http://www.dreaminco...ty/prototype.js

That rubbish is a result of doing OCR on the picture of the error dialog i wanted to attach, but couldn't, as uploads seem to be broken again (Error The server returned an error during upload) , so that's 2 bugs ;)

This post has been edited by g00se: 07 September 2017 - 12:59 AM


Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: js bug on site

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is offline

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 13400
  • View blog
  • Posts: 53,481
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: js bug on site

Posted 07 September 2017 - 06:24 AM

Thanks for the 411. I am getting the same issue.

It was reported to skyhawk.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 jimblumberg  Icon User is offline

  • member icon

Reputation: 5304
  • View blog
  • Posts: 16,521
  • Joined: 25-December 09

Re: js bug on site

Posted 08 September 2017 - 06:51 AM

Any hint as to when this issue will be resolved? It really makes the site almost unusable, IMO.

Jim
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 skyhawk133  Icon User is offline

  • Head DIC Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 1949
  • View blog
  • Posts: 20,376
  • Joined: 17-March 01

Re: js bug on site

Posted 08 September 2017 - 07:59 AM

View Postjimblumberg, on 08 September 2017 - 07:51 AM, said:

Any hint as to when this issue will be resolved? It really makes the site almost unusable, IMO.

Jim


We have a few teams looking at what is causing it. I'm going to try to just disable that script. Not sure what all it powers right now to be honest, but seeing if I can just remove the call.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 skyhawk133  Icon User is offline

  • Head DIC Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 1949
  • View blog
  • Posts: 20,376
  • Joined: 17-March 01

Re: js bug on site

Posted 08 September 2017 - 07:59 AM

View Postjimblumberg, on 08 September 2017 - 07:51 AM, said:

Any hint as to when this issue will be resolved? It really makes the site almost unusable, IMO.

Jim


We have a few teams looking at what is causing it. I'm going to try to just disable that script. Not sure what all it powers right now to be honest, but seeing if I can just remove the call.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 skyhawk133  Icon User is offline

  • Head DIC Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 1949
  • View blog
  • Posts: 20,376
  • Joined: 17-March 01

Re: js bug on site

Posted 08 September 2017 - 08:51 AM

Give it a shot now. I made a few adjustments and it seems to be working Ok now. Although I am getting a periodic error about the order Prototype.js is loaded now but not getting that error in Incognito so assuming it's a cached file some where.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 Skydiver  Icon User is offline

  • Code herder
  • member icon

Reputation: 5830
  • View blog
  • Posts: 19,870
  • Joined: 05-May 12

Re: js bug on site

Posted 08 September 2017 - 09:06 AM

Thanks for looking into it. I don't even understand why something like that would suddenly fail unless somebody is maliciously introducing script into the page.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 skyhawk133  Icon User is offline

  • Head DIC Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 1949
  • View blog
  • Posts: 20,376
  • Joined: 17-March 01

Re: js bug on site

Posted 08 September 2017 - 09:09 AM

You and me both. my guess is something with one of the ad networks running a new script that was conflicting with the prototype.js version we had. I upgraded it to a newer version and that seems to have resolved it.
Was This Post Helpful? 4
  • +
  • -

#9 skyhawk133  Icon User is offline

  • Head DIC Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 1949
  • View blog
  • Posts: 20,376
  • Joined: 17-March 01

Re: js bug on site

Posted 08 September 2017 - 10:01 AM

On the plus side, related topics is working again at the bottom of the pages
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#10 jimblumberg  Icon User is offline

  • member icon

Reputation: 5304
  • View blog
  • Posts: 16,521
  • Joined: 25-December 09

Re: js bug on site

Posted 08 September 2017 - 10:21 AM

Seems to be working here as well. Glad you got it figured out. How is the "site update" coming along?

Jim
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#11 andrewsw  Icon User is online

  • lashings of ginger beer
  • member icon

Reputation: 6341
  • View blog
  • Posts: 25,580
  • Joined: 12-December 12

Re: js bug on site

Posted 08 September 2017 - 09:39 PM

Our badges/roles have disappeared again.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#12 skyhawk133  Icon User is offline

  • Head DIC Head
  • member icon

Reputation: 1949
  • View blog
  • Posts: 20,376
  • Joined: 17-March 01

Re: js bug on site

Posted 09 September 2017 - 07:45 AM

Good catch, I'll check in to those. Looks like a setting got re-cached some where.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#13 andrewsw  Icon User is online

  • lashings of ginger beer
  • member icon

Reputation: 6341
  • View blog
  • Posts: 25,580
  • Joined: 12-December 12

Re: js bug on site

Posted 11 September 2017 - 01:32 PM

I also still cannot use the site in Chrome on my Android phone. It just stalls. I tried disabling JS to zero effect.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1