1 Replies - 277 Views - Last Post: 16 September 2017 - 02:17 AM

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

My first Client

Posted 15 September 2017 - 02:33 PM

My first client. My Ex-Boss (I worked as a Data Process Employee)
Well, he asked me to make a small Web App. It took me around half-month to learn fluent NodeJS & React ... so Fullstack.

I went to show him my first (and final) demo, it was only a Frontend Showcase. The backend was half-implemented, but the Frontend wasn't yet communicating with it.
He asked me ...
- Well, nice we talked ... but you didn't say ... how much are you asking?
- Hmm, it took me like 2-3 weeks to learn all that stuff, but that's my thing, not yours. I'll make you a friendly price of 300$.
- That's what I was planning.
How much is it gonna take? I don't want to say tomorrow but it won't be possible
- 1 Month
- 1 Month? Why that long
- Well, it's not a Wordpress Website like you were doing 2 months ago. It's a Web Application from Scratch.
- Yeah yeah, I know ... okay!
[ Gestures and Handshakes of Happiness followed ... I suppose ]

I said 1 Month. That was because I wasn't quite sure if I'm gonna have any troubles. But honestly? I believed that it could be done in a week. But as he's my first client and a person who trusts me very much, I don't want to get in a rough situation by letting him wait for something that was supposed to be finished in 1 week.

I mean I was still learning. I still had to learn how to implement some Libraries that I didn't learn yet. So, what if that Library would be switched afterwards because it sucked or it just didn't fit in the Project?

Did I act right? In my opinion ... well ... not quite. But it was gonna turn a little bit of a boomerang to me, in a good way. If I was gonna have the Project finished in 2-3 weeks before the Deadline, well I suppose he'd be bonus-happy. Or would he?

So ... how was your First Client/First Job experience, and how did you handle things?