0 Replies - 502 Views - Last Post: 17 September 2017 - 05:10 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

From Flash and AS3 to.......?

Posted 17 September 2017 - 05:10 AM

Hi Everyone,

I am simply a hobbyist that is looking to grow my programming skills in a meaningful direction. I was hoping I could find some realistic advice here.

I am an elementary school teacher, but have been programming in Flash for several years. I Love Flash! Actionscript seemed like a deep scripting language that I could challenge myself with. I learned file systems, xml, SQL, drawing APIs, animation, and much more. I feel like I honed my loops, functions and complex arrays. I am sure my code is atrocious, and many of the things I programmed were event based. If I click this, then do this, save here, and yada yada yada. But it worked and it felt impressive.

However, I feel flash held me by the hand a little too much. I am not comfortable in making my own classes because it was so easy for Flash to make them for me. I cannot visualize what programming an animation would look like in an IDE because Flash tweens and triggers everything on a timeline for you. I also felt held back when programming with Adobe AIR because my apps were hard to interact with the filesystem of iOS.