8 Replies - 2635 Views - Last Post: 02 October 2017 - 09:11 AM

#1 mercy_angel  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 319
  • Joined: 28-February 13

will this work?

Posted 30 September 2017 - 04:17 AM

If i have a dsl modem connected to LAN port to wireless router and this wireless router has 2 pc on his network, will they have access to internet?
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: will this work?

#2 no2pencil  Icon User is offline

  • Professor Snuggly Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 6543
  • View blog
  • Posts: 30,649
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: will this work?

Posted 30 September 2017 - 09:02 AM

That's the purpose of a router.

If your modem has a router built into it, you may need to switch it to bridge mode to prevent double NATing.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 mercy_angel  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 319
  • Joined: 28-February 13

Re: will this work?

Posted 30 September 2017 - 02:55 PM

Yeah but modem is only a modem, not modem/router, so if I dont put it on router WAN it musntn work?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 no2pencil  Icon User is offline

  • Professor Snuggly Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 6543
  • View blog
  • Posts: 30,649
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: will this work?

Posted 30 September 2017 - 03:05 PM

Do these devices not have manuals?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 13397
  • View blog
  • Posts: 53,465
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: will this work?

Posted 30 September 2017 - 03:08 PM

Yes.. that is a basic setup. Data from modem into the router. Things connect to the router.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 mercy_angel  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 319
  • Joined: 28-February 13

Re: will this work?

Posted 30 September 2017 - 03:09 PM

yeah ofc, but cable in router must be in WAN port if things want to work properly.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 13397
  • View blog
  • Posts: 53,465
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: will this work?

Posted 30 September 2017 - 03:48 PM

Most routers have been built to be fairly fool proof. Data cable in.. A few options for out and wireless antenna.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 mercy_angel  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 319
  • Joined: 28-February 13

Re: will this work?

Posted 02 October 2017 - 03:59 AM

View Postmodi123_1, on 30 September 2017 - 10:48 PM, said:

Most routers have been built to be fairly fool proof. Data cable in.. A few options for out and wireless antenna.



but in theory this not gonna work, modem must be in routers WAN port, if want to shaare a internet via LAN ports?
This is just a theory question (not for any test, just asking)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 13397
  • View blog
  • Posts: 53,465
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: will this work?

Posted 02 October 2017 - 09:11 AM

Dude.. you are over thinking it. Modem data takes a nice trip along the cat5 to the router's in port. Unless you are dealing with something super old or weird there's usually only one in. Wifi router broadcasts signals.. things work.

Again.. made fool proof. Example for linksys.. It just says "internet".

Posted Image

If you have computers that need the physical cabling then yea.. pop in a cable in the typical 1-4 'out' ports and off you go. A wifi router pretty much handles both wifi and hard wired at the same time.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1