7 Replies - 366 Views - Last Post: 21 October 2017 - 02:35 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Iterative and incremental development

Posted 20 October 2017 - 03:24 AM

Hi all,

I am new to this forum and the field of software engineering, so please go easy with me here. I am considering conducting a project to build a software system for my friend. The system is going to be a very basic, desktop based, CRM system for a small business. I wish I could be more specific, but I am considering basing my final project for my Bachelors on this so I don't want to fall fowl of my universities policies.

I have been reading up on development life cycles and I particularly like the idea of iterative and incremental development. However, I am struggling to conceive how this project could be broken down into iterations with incrementing functionality. I am a complete novice at all the stages (analysis to implementation), which is why I probably can't even vision how the project might unfold. I would really appreciate it if anyone was able to offer any general advice about how they approach such a development.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Iterative and incremental development

#2 andrewsw  Icon User is online

• the case is sol-ved
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Iterative and incremental development

Posted 20 October 2017 - 03:44 AM

Presumably you will be doing this alone? In which case it will be a challenge to enforce iterations and incremental development, and self-review.

It is not a question of breaking down the project, but to approach it incrementally and allowing it to evolve.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 20 October 2017 - 11:03 AM