1 Replies - 315 Views - Last Post: 02 November 2017 - 04:31 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Just started learning Java again.

Posted 02 November 2017 - 03:49 PM

First of all, my major is IT and I only took java, c++, sql, web design(html, css) 1 class each. It's been more than 2 years since I used any of these language. Anyway, I started studying java(eclipse) and sql(oracle) again because of the work. So far, I put about 30 hours on these two languages and I caught up and went beyond what I learned in first introductory class years ago. However, I feel absolutely discouraged what the heck I can do with these at this point. In Java, I can type in some lines and it prints some crap in console or make little pop up on window that does almost nothing. In sql, I can make some tables, drop tables, modify data, alter column blah blah.. but I can't think of a single thing how any of these are useful in real life. If I keep going, sure.. I will know better but it's not like I can create any useful system for any company. Currently, there are IT project team came to my work to build some system and in order to maintain it, I gotta know sql, java, c#, htlm, java script and some other crap on top of VM machines, WAS, microsoft server 2012 etc.. Yeah, I am still beginner and I know little bit of all that but I am not good enough to put them together to make any system and no one is teaching me how to do it either.

So.. if I keep dig into java and sql.. will I be able to land a decent job in the future? My current job is ok but it's mostly front line support and I am only doing it to gain some experience. Tell me you experts. :(

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Just started learning Java again.

• Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Just started learning Java again.

Posted 02 November 2017 - 04:31 PM