3 Replies - 406 Views - Last Post: 14 November 2017 - 10:08 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Best Book / Website for programming concepts

Posted 14 November 2017 - 09:50 AM

Hello,

Whilst I am new to Java (still currently learning at University based around a full time job), but I am getting on well with the code and syntax. This is not really proving an issue.

However I am finding that whilst the university material I am studying is very good at explaining the basics behind the code and the syntax, it rarely touches the subject of programming concepts.

For me, my issue is now a case of knowing the code, but wondering how to apply it.

What I want is to know if there are any good website or books out there that go into depth about how to take an idea for an application and then work out the best format and design for the program / package.

The more code I learn, the happier I am, but also the more daunted I am by taking a simple idea for a program and actually coming up with a working solution.

For instance, I want to use my new found knowledge to build a simple form that takes anything between 8 to 10 different input boxes (JTextField's) and then feed it into the Java database that I can run from Netbeans. I know exactly what data the form will ask for, and I even have the basic knowledge for the netbeans database. But I am lacking the experience or knowledge of how to take my idea and make a start in designing it in the correct fashion.

Any idea's or recommendations of some good website or material would be really helpful.

Thanks Everyone.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Best Book / Website for programming concepts

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Best Book / Website for programming concepts

Posted 14 November 2017 - 09:55 AM

Yes.. there are a ton of "software design" theory books on Amazon. Check out one that is highly reviewed and pretty recent.