5 Replies - 300 Views - Last Post: 06 December 2017 - 12:28 PM Rate Topic: ***-- 2 Votes

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

A few beginner questions for C++

Posted 05 December 2017 - 02:58 AM

Hello,

I'm new to C++ so, having come from a C#/VB/Java background, there's a steep learning curve and some things don't make sense until they're explained. I have a few questions below which I'd appreciate some advice on, as I haven't found any reasonable explanations on the internet.

Firstly, 'const'.

I see it used a lot, and it's used to specify that a variable cannot have its value changed. This is useful for things which must not change, for example pi. However, if a variable doesn't need to be changed, is it absolutely necessary to declare it as const? What are the benefits of using/not using it?

Secondly, I'd like to make sure my understanding of pointers is correct. If so, all of the following should be valid:

SomeClass* instance = new SomeClass();
instance->doMethod();

int i = 2;
int* i_address = &i;
int i_again = *i_address;
int data_next_in_memory = *i_address++; // increase the memory location and get the value at it, ignore type as it could be anything.

Relating to 'const' again, if the pointer itself does not need to be modified (most situations), is it necessary to declare it as const? I believe to do this, the correct syntax would be:

int* const addr;

const int* const i = 9; // not sure if this syntax is correct, but it should make both the pointer and value immutable.

Thanks

This post has been edited by Rixterz: 05 December 2017 - 03:29 AM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: A few beginner questions for C++

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: A few beginner questions for C++

Posted 05 December 2017 - 03:56 AM