2 Replies - 335 Views - Last Post: 22 December 2017 - 01:14 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Transition career from analytics to development

Posted 22 December 2017 - 12:30 PM

I'm hired on as a Data Analyst for a very specific set of systems. The work where I am doesn't really have opportunity elsewhere in the world, so I do not want to get pigeonholed to my local area. I have a BSCS and was top 5% of class. Frankly I do not do much with analytics, rather the team learned I had a "developer" background (based on my degree) so I write scripting tools in Python all day every day. I've written some standalone applications for other teams that are Java 8 front-end with Python back-end (simply because the Java wrapped scripts I had already written).

However, this is all just me, myself and I. I try to follow conventions I learned through school (build management, SDLC processes, etc...) but I have never truly been a part of a development team. I don't know what it is like to parse out work in sprints and have scrums, none of it. My division in the company has a software team and has expressed interest in me coming over to work for them so I have an opening into that path if need be.

I don't want to get to a point where I've become very proficient in Python (maybe even some Java) but never truly been labeled a "developer" and if I try to go into development, any company I applied to would consider me a "Junior" developer since I was never hired on as a developer and haven't worked a traditional development lifecycle.

What's the reality here? Will the fact that I am not a developer in the sense that I work on a team to deliver an product to the customer but rather I develop tools to perform analysis (again, on a very specific and changing set of data) going to impact a transition to a traditional developer role down the road?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Transition career from analytics to development

• Senior Systems Engineer