2 Replies - 361 Views - Last Post: 28 December 2017 - 01:41 PM

• D.I.C Lover

• View blog

Researching a Masters Program - Suggestions?

Posted 28 December 2017 - 09:02 AM

Now that I have taken Calculus a second time (Technically passed 1st time, but missed what was required to "Pass" requirements for the Degree program by 2%) to receive a B, I am now officially 100% DONE with my Bachelors of Science Degree in Computer Science from Columbia College. (Yay!)

Prior to this I went to a 2yr Tech School for my Associates so I could immediately start working after, which I did, and 5yrs later now I have finished my Bachelors Degree through Evening/Online classes.

While I never intended to go on for a Master's Program unless I someday chose to seek management versus being a Code Monkey/Analyst, I now work as a Software Engineer for an Organization that treats it's employees very well in all facets, including paying (reimbursing) for my continued education. I will be Vested next year should I wish to seek other options, but for the foreseeable future have no intentions of leaving, so figure I may as well take advantage.

I was hoping to maybe hear from some others on here who may be in or have completed a Masters Program of some kind in IT and maybe receive some suggestions to look into. Unfortunately I cannot stay with Columbia College as their only Masters Program is Business Admin and I would like to stay somewhat IT focused.

If I stay local (physical classroom) within the Mid-Missouri area, I am leaning towards Mizzou's Data Science & Analytics Program as either an Evening/Online campus option, but my work will cover all classes required by any Program that can be tied to my current job - so I am also considering the idea of a fully Online Master's Program elsewhere.