5 Replies - 255 Views - Last Post: 08 January 2018 - 04:42 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Moving on from Winforms. WPF or Web Based?

Posted 07 January 2018 - 03:15 AM

Hi All, (hopefully the right location) I know there is a lot of discussion regarding moving on from winforms, but i'm going to ask again, specifically the question on what to move to? I'm tossing up if I move to WPF or to a web based technology?

I currently develop primarily in winforms business applications and have been doing some reading into Wpf as it seems that this is the logical step forward for development (and smarter UI's). There has recently been some requests for offsite/mobile access to some of our systems so I'm wondering if web based is a better way to go?

If so, what web based technology should I be looking at? I have lots of experience in vb.net and good understanding of c#.net. Experience in HTML/CSS, basic experience with PHP/JAVA.

If I'm allocating time/resource to update my skill set, should I spend the time learning more Wpf/C# or spend the time moving to web technology (can Wpf be easily transitioned to web)? If so, what is the best combination/technology/language that gives me the most rounded skill set for business applications (including the need to be functional on mobile)?

Any suggested tutorials that anyone has seen?

Thanks

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Moving on from Winforms. WPF or Web Based?

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Moving on from Winforms. WPF or Web Based?

Posted 07 January 2018 - 08:01 AM

If you want to continue having a desktop app then WPF or UWP would be the logical choice.

Depending on what "offside/mobile access" means.. which could be anything from a full blown website to an API or what not. If it's just an API I wouldn't flip an entire project over to being a web page just on that alone.

If you are in the .NET stack the new Core 2/Razor pages with ASP.NET is the better choice.