problems with Flash and Dreamweaver CS3

Flash elements are not visable when viewed over the Internet

Page 1 of 1

8 Replies - 10553 Views - Last Post: 23 March 2010 - 11:00 AM

#1 mpower  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 18-January 08

problems with Flash and Dreamweaver CS3

Posted 18 January 2008 - 12:51 PM

I want to add an .swf file to a website I made using Dreamweaver CS3. First I added a new layer using the "Draw AP Div" button then I added the .swf inside the layer. When I preview the webpage in my browser it looks fine, but when I view the page on the internet the .swf file does not appear at all. There is an error on the page, that says "Object Expected."
In the past I used Dreamweaver 4 and I would follow these same steps to add flash to my websites and it always worked. this is my first time trying it with Dreamweaver CS3.

The url is http://quigleysonline.com/preview.htm

Here's the code: (the .swf in question is bar3.swf)

<script type="text/javascript">
</script><script type="text/javascript">
AC_FL_RunContent( 'codebase','http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=9,0,28,0','width','805','height','32','title','bar3','src','flash/bar3','quality','high','pluginspage','http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/download/download.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash','movie','flash/bar3' ); //end AC code
</script><noscript>
<object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=9,0,28,0" width="805" height="32" title="bar3">
  <param name="movie" value="flash/bar3.swf">
  <param name="quality" value="high">
  <embed src="flash/bar3.swf" quality="high" pluginspage="http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/download/download.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="805" height="32"></embed>
</object>
</noscript>
</div>



Even if I just make a blank page with one swf on it as a test, the swf does not show up at all when I view the page over the internet using IE 6.

Also, I used Dreamweaver CS3 to open an old page that I made with Dreamweaver 4. I saved the page using Dreamweaver CS3 and then uploaded it and now the flash elements are missing. Help!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: problems with Flash and Dreamweaver CS3

#2 girasquid  Icon User is offline

  • Barbarbar
  • member icon

Reputation: 108
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,825
  • Joined: 03-October 06

Re: problems with Flash and Dreamweaver CS3

Posted 18 January 2008 - 01:08 PM

Is the movie actually in quigleysonline.com/flash?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 beethousand  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 06-February 08

Re: problems with Flash and Dreamweaver CS3

Posted 06 February 2008 - 08:02 PM

huh.

I'm having the same problem. I just upgraded to CS3 and suddenly when I saved over the work I did previously the Flash does not show up on the internet (it does show up in the browser when it is reading off my hard drive). Very weird.

I'm not a programmer, just a designer so I could use some straightforward info if anyone has any.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 capty99  Icon User is offline

  • i am colt mccoy
  • member icon

Reputation: 98
  • View blog
  • Posts: 10,081
  • Joined: 26-April 01

Re: problems with Flash and Dreamweaver CS3

Posted 06 February 2008 - 08:07 PM

do you have the code pointing to the file on your server?
and is the file actually there?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#40 hogan22  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 6
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 25-March 08

Re: problems with Flash and Dreamweaver CS3

Posted 25 March 2008 - 09:23 AM

'mpower' date='18 Jan, 2008 - 12:51 PM' post='298661']

Hi mpower,

I had the same problem but have fixed it. here goes:

1) When you open any Dreamweaver CS2 file in CS3 be sure to uncheck the following:
Preferences>Code Rewriting>Convert tags to script on file open.

If you have already opened files and said 'yes' to convert tags that may not work in IE then do this:

2) Open the offending file in Code View. Find these 2 statements and delete (this shows one using my swf file but you get the picture).

<script src="Scripts/AC_RunActiveContent.js" type="text/javascript"></script>

<script type="text/javascript">
AC_FL_RunContent('codebase','http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,29,0','width','900','height','98','src','flash/ss_logoanim2007-stat','quality','high','pluginspage','http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer','movie','flash/ss_logoanim2007-stat' ); //end AC code
</script><noscript>

These statements will be pretty close together.

Hope this helps. It was a real pain for me at first but now the Prefs are set ok I haven't had this problem since.

cheers
hogan
Was This Post Helpful? 1

#41 bmcc81  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 2
  • View blog
  • Posts: 312
  • Joined: 10-July 07

Re: problems with Flash and Dreamweaver CS3

Posted 25 March 2008 - 12:53 PM

If you go to the adobe web site you can find the dreamweaver activex plug in. That will fix all your embedding flash problems and you'll get to see all your flashes.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#42 Guest_karimi*


Reputation:

Re: problems with Flash and Dreamweaver CS3

Posted 26 February 2010 - 05:52 AM

I want to add an .swf file to a website I made using Dreamweaver CS3. First I added a new layer using the "Draw AP Div" button then I added the .swf inside the layer. When I preview the webpage in my browser it looks fine, but when I view the page on the internet the .swf file does not appear at all. There is an error on the page, that says "Object Expected."
In the past I used Dreamweaver 4 and I would follow these same steps to add flash to my websites and it always worked. this is my first time trying it with Dreamweaver CS3.

The url is http://quigleysonline.com/preview.htm

Here's the code: (the .swf in question is bar3.swf)

<script type="text/javascript">
</script><script type="text/javascript">
AC_FL_RunContent( 'codebase','http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=9,0,28,0','width','805','height','32','title','bar3','src','flash/bar3','quality','high','pluginspage','http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/download/download.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash','movie','flash/bar3' ); //end AC code
</script><noscript>
<object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=9,0,28,0" width="805" height="32" title="bar3">
  <param name="movie" value="flash/bar3.swf">
  <param name="quality" value="high">
  <embed src="flash/bar3.swf" quality="high" pluginspage="http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/download/download.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="805" height="32"></embed>
</object>
</noscript>
</div>


Was This Post Helpful? 0

#43 Guest_james van-city*


Reputation:

Re: problems with Flash and Dreamweaver CS3

Posted 23 March 2010 - 10:58 AM

View Posthogan22, on 25 March 2008 - 08:23 AM, said:

'mpower' date='18 Jan, 2008 - 12:51 PM' post='298661']

Hi mpower,

I had the same problem but have fixed it. here goes:

1) When you open any Dreamweaver CS2 file in CS3 be sure to uncheck the following:
Preferences>Code Rewriting>Convert tags to script on file open.

If you have already opened files and said 'yes' to convert tags that may not work in IE then do this:

2) Open the offending file in Code View. Find these 2 statements and delete (this shows one using my swf file but you get the picture).

<script src="Scripts/AC_RunActiveContent.js" type="text/javascript"></script>

<script type="text/javascript">
AC_FL_RunContent('codebase','http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,29,0','width','900','height','98','src','flash/ss_logoanim2007-stat','quality','high','pluginspage','http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer','movie','flash/ss_logoanim2007-stat' ); //end AC code
</script><noscript>

These statements will be pretty close together.

Hope this helps. It was a real pain for me at first but now the Prefs are set ok I haven't had this problem since.

cheers
hogan

Was This Post Helpful? 0

#44 Guest_james van-city*


Reputation:

Re: problems with Flash and Dreamweaver CS3

Posted 23 March 2010 - 11:00 AM

whoops,

check off 'insert using browser safe scripts' as well.

thanx for the help!
Was This Post Helpful? 0

Page 1 of 1