1 Replies - 14059 Views - Last Post: 31 January 2008 - 03:48 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

How to Collect Data From HTML Form Using Javascript?

Posted 30 January 2008 - 05:09 AM

Im new to javascript, and I was just wondering where the data from a form goes after hitting the submit button. How do I contain that data? In our web applications development class, we have made (using html) a calendar with historical events on each date, and now we are tasked to provide an option for the user to "add a historical event" to the page of a certain date. I know that I need to make a form for the user to fill up, but I dont know how to contain that data so that it may be added to the page of the designated date. And so that right after the user clicks the submit button, the page of that designated date will appear with the newly added information.

We were told that the only way to do this was to use javascript, but still I'm confused about the whole process. A little enlightenment would be greatly appreciated.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How to Collect Data From HTML Form Using Javascript?

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: How to Collect Data From HTML Form Using Javascript?

Posted 31 January 2008 - 03:48 PM

Usually that data is passed to a server side script which would process it, maybe store it in a database or file and then display the new page. Then every time that event needs to be displayed, it's recalled from wherever it was stored.

Javascript is not a server side language though. Javascript runs on the machine of the client, or the person using your website. Through javascript you won't be able to save the data. You can however manipulate the current page to show the event. Any changes would be lost when the page is refreshed. It's also possible to access the data on another page that the form sends you to.