• (2 Pages)
  • +

C++ Strings A beginner's introduction to strings in C++ Rate Topic: ***** 7 Votes

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 01 February 2008 - 06:48 AM

POPULAR

An introduction to strings using the standard C++ string tools

Preface
This article is aimed at complete beginners, who need no more experience in using the C++ language other than simple programs involving arithmetic with integers, and interaction with the user through cin and cout. Here, strings are introduced as a beginners' topic, where they belong, rather than as a more advanced topic, which is, unfortunately where many C++ books and tutorials seem to place them. Behind the scenes, strings may not be trivial beasts, but C++ hides all that away from the programmer, allowing many common problems to be solved with just a few keystrokes.

For those with a 'C' background, or who have been taught strings in C++ the 'old fashioned' way, then its time to hang up that knowledge and learn a new, better way to think about strings. The way that the 'C' language handles strings is considered poor practice for a C++ program, and certainly not beginners' territory. For this reason, 'C' string handling will not be discussed further.

Introduction
Natural languages are based upon words and punctuation, connected to form sentences and paragraphs. In computer science jargon, these are usually referred to as strings. Computer programming languages all need to represent natural language in some form or another, either to interact with users, record data to a file, send data to a printing device, etc. This article defines what is really meant by string in C++, and presents an introduction to the way strings are used in C++ programs.

Strings as raw data
Here's a familiar example of a program which contains a string. In this program, that string is used to send the user a message
#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
	cout << "Hello, World";
}