6 Replies - 2684 Views - Last Post: 05 February 2008 - 07:33 AM

#1 bengt23648  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 37
  • Joined: 30-June 07

How can I put a flash intro on my site?

Posted 04 February 2008 - 09:40 PM

hey guys! good day! I would just like to ask how can I put a flash intro on my blog. I already made and uploaded my flash intro (link: http://www.swfup.com.../swf-120485.swf) and I want to be seen before my blog loads (just like other sites wherein there's a nice flash intro then the user would be redirected to the main page)..

I am hosting my blog in Blogger and I have no idea how to put my flash intro.. I want my blog to be like this:
1. I enter my blog's url at the browser
2. Then, the flash intro appears,
3. Then when i clike the "Enter" button in my flash intro, i would be redirected to the main page of my blog...

please help me.. thanks a lot!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How can I put a flash intro on my site?

#2 capty99  Icon User is offline

  • i am colt mccoy
  • member icon

Reputation: 98
  • View blog
  • Posts: 10,081
  • Joined: 26-April 01

Re: How can I put a flash intro on my site?

Posted 04 February 2008 - 10:45 PM

i don't know how blogger works, are you given just one url or actual web space?

i'm pretty sure your just given a url. in which case you can't do what your asking.

when you have an intro page like that its actually an extra page hosted on a webserver. and a click or a timed forward passes you to the next page.

there is no way to interrupt the user when they type in your blog's url to do anything else.

the only thing i can think is if you did something like some of the flash advertisments nowadays that cover a large portion of the screen but thats heavy javascript i doubt blogger will let you throw down.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 Nykc  Icon User is offline

  • Gentleman of Leisure
  • member icon

Reputation: 731
  • View blog
  • Posts: 8,644
  • Joined: 14-September 07

Re: How can I put a flash intro on my site?

Posted 04 February 2008 - 10:50 PM

Yeah- what Capty99 said.

Actually the workaround for that would be to get a domain name and load up the flash intro to that site, click a enter site link and point it to the blogger site.

Hope this helps!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 bhandari  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 9
  • View blog
  • Posts: 754
  • Joined: 31-January 08

Re: How can I put a flash intro on my site?

Posted 05 February 2008 - 04:58 AM

Not possible on webhosts like geocities,google pages or blogger.
The webhost must support .swf files.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 Nykc  Icon User is offline

  • Gentleman of Leisure
  • member icon

Reputation: 731
  • View blog
  • Posts: 8,644
  • Joined: 14-September 07

Re: How can I put a flash intro on my site?

Posted 05 February 2008 - 06:47 AM

View Postbhandari, on 5 Feb, 2008 - 06:58 AM, said:

Not possible on webhosts like geocities,google pages or blogger.
The webhost must support .swf files.


You can use Dotster, or dreamhost or 1&1 and buy a .com or .net incorporate flash and forward it to the appropriate blogger domain.

I use dreamhost and have done similiar things in the past.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 bhandari  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 9
  • View blog
  • Posts: 754
  • Joined: 31-January 08

Re: How can I put a flash intro on my site?

Posted 05 February 2008 - 07:28 AM

Quote

You can use Dotster, or dreamhost or 1&1 and buy a .com or .net incorporate flash and forward it to the appropriate blogger domain.

I use dreamhost and have done similiar things in the past.


It has to be some trick. Not a good option for commercial website.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 Nykc  Icon User is offline

  • Gentleman of Leisure
  • member icon

Reputation: 731
  • View blog
  • Posts: 8,644
  • Joined: 14-September 07

Re: How can I put a flash intro on my site?

Posted 05 February 2008 - 07:33 AM

I agree, not the best option - but unless they decide to use a service like wordpress or typepad and get a TLD then what they are trying to accomplish is more work than it is worth.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1