connecting microsoft access database to visual basic

connect ms access database to visual basic an alter the contents of da

Page 1 of 1

10 Replies - 163268 Views - Last Post: 11 December 2009 - 07:48 PM Rate Topic: -----

#9 vikas1111  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 2
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 20-February 08

Re: connecting microsoft access database to visual basic

Posted 20 February 2008 - 05:57 AM

I want to connect microsoft access database to visual basic adodc.. Can any one help me out ??
Was This Post Helpful? 0

#10 PsychoCoder  Icon User is offline

  • Google.Sucks.Init(true);
  • member icon

Reputation: 1641
  • View blog
  • Posts: 19,853
  • Joined: 26-July 07

Re: connecting microsoft access database to visual basic

Posted 20 February 2008 - 06:06 AM

Dream.In.Code has a policy by which we prefer to see a good faith effort on your part before providing source code for homework assignments. Please post the code you have written in an effort to resolve the problem, and our members would be happy to provide some guidance. Be sure to include a description of any errors you are encountering as well.

Post your code like this: :code:

Thanks :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#11 tundsam  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 28-January 08

Re: connecting microsoft access database to visual basic

Posted 20 February 2008 - 12:36 PM

View Postvikas1111, on 20 Feb, 2008 - 05:57 AM, said:

I want to connect microsoft access database to visual basic adodc.. Can any one help me out ??


Good day. you can use the connection string to connect your visual basic application to your database, by adodc.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#12 rbgranados  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 23-December 07

Re: connecting microsoft access database to visual basic

Posted 19 March 2008 - 07:36 PM

View Postvikas1111, on 20 Feb, 2008 - 05:57 AM, said:

I want to connect microsoft access database to visual basic adodc.. Can any one help me out ??

if you have any problems in visual basic just email me @ {Removed}. i dont want to spearhead the public. thanks.

This post has been edited by PsychoCoder: 19 March 2008 - 07:57 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0

#13 eaglebeef  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 28-April 08

Re: connecting microsoft access database to visual basic

Posted 28 April 2008 - 06:35 AM

sweet
Was This Post Helpful? 0

#14 skorned  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 13
  • View blog
  • Posts: 41
  • Joined: 30-August 08

Re: connecting microsoft access database to visual basic

Posted 30 August 2008 - 11:24 AM

I have a similar difficulty. I learnt VB 6 in school where data handling was very easy with the recordset. However, i have decided to do my coursework in vb 2008, but they aren't teaching it, so i must figure out how to handle data in vb 2008.
I got this connection string from connectionstrings.com, and tried to write some commands of my own. Btw, i'm trying to link to a database in the access 2003 format, with a table called classes.
Is this method for connecting correct? is there any method simpler than sql, as my project is very basic and it would help if i didnt have to write such complex programming. And plus, how do i navigate records? like in vb 6 it would be something like booksdat.recordset.next....

 Dim myConnection As SqlConnection
		Dim insert As SqlCommand
		Dim delete As SqlCommand

		myConnection = New SqlConnection(Provider=Microsoft.ACE.OLEDB.12.0;Data Source=C:\vb08sbs\chap18\students.mdb;Persist Security Info=False;)
		insert = New SqlCommand("INSERT INTO Classes (Class Name, Department, Prof, Section Number, Term, Units, Year, Location, Days/Times) values ('Test Class', 'Computer Science', 'Satra, Neil', 3, 'Fall', 98, 102, 'MWF 8:00')", myConnection)
		delete = New SqlCommand("DELETE FROM Classes WHERE Class Name = 'Test Class'", myConnection)


Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#15 thava  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

Reputation: 180
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,606
  • Joined: 17-April 07

Re: connecting microsoft access database to visual basic

Posted 01 September 2008 - 04:51 PM

try the xsd item or try in .net forum

This post has been edited by thava: 01 September 2008 - 04:53 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#16 khim_Evangelista@yahoo.com  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 14-September 09

Re: connecting microsoft access database to visual basic

Posted 14 September 2009 - 01:13 AM

View Posteaglebeef, on 28 Apr, 2008 - 05:35 AM, said:

sweet

BBCode

did you know how to connect VB to database?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#17 C Stones  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: 07-September 09

Re: connecting microsoft access database to visual basic

Posted 15 September 2009 - 07:24 AM

View Postvikas1111, on 20 Feb, 2008 - 04:57 AM, said:

I want to connect microsoft access database to visual basic adodc.. Can any one help me out ??



you can get tons of help from the dreamincode tutorials or just google for it.

when i looked for tutorials, i google things like : vb6 ADO lesson free download : and followed the trail from there. That is how i found dreamincode and others. Try this link to get you started.

http://www.programmi...ls.com/vb6.aspx

cc
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#18 sbchinamageri  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 07-December 09

Re: connecting microsoft access database to visual basic

Posted 07 December 2009 - 01:49 AM

View Postvikas1111, on 20 Feb, 2008 - 04:57 AM, said:

I want to connect microsoft access database to visual basic adodc.. Can any one help me out ??



it is the program model

in Genaral
Dim db as detabase
dim r as recordset



// in cammand /any cantrol
like add
r.addnew
r!twxt1.text
r.update

end


//
cannect the db in form lode event like
//

db= ad as database(c:\\.....)//it is an your path set
r= dbas record set (thats the name of r database path0







any
problem in this code




{email removed]

This post has been edited by BobRodes: 28 August 2011 - 12:49 PM
Reason for edit:: Removed email; against policy to publish private emails

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#19 cinor16  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 11-December 09

Re: connecting microsoft access database to visual basic

Posted 11 December 2009 - 07:48 PM

dbconn.ConnectionString = "Provider=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;Data Source=D:\Akin to\VB\employee\List.mdb;Persist Security Info=False"
dbconn.CursorLocation = adUseClient
dbconn.Open

rsdata.Open "select*(file name of the table)", dbconn, adOpenStatic, adLockOptimistic



hope u can use this code..
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1