• (3 Pages)
  • +

42 Replies - 5979 Views - Last Post: 05 April 2008 - 10:40 PM

• Can grep dead trees!
  • member icon

• View blog

Programming style/habbits

Post icon  Posted 19 March 2008 - 07:02 AM

I am often amazed when helping out in the forums. People seems to write entire programs out without testing as they go. In the C++ forum people will post long code listings riddled with syntax errors -- which makes it seem that they sat down and wrote this entire program without compiling once.

Me, I compile often. I also test often. I would say that probably about 10% of the code I write is purely for testing purposes and will not appear in the final product.

Now I realize that I am not a fast programmer and a good deal of that is probably related to the fact that I have a very conservative programming style (referring to how I work not my coding style). I am wondering if I am the norm or the exception. It would seem to me that other programmers are much faster -- and I think part of that has to be that they don't "waste" as much time writing code to ensure that the other code that they have written works.

How often do you compile the code you are working on?
How much do you test as you go?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Programming style/habbits

• holy shitin shishkebobs
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Programming style/habbits

Posted 19 March 2008 - 07:10 AM

I design websites, so compiling isn't a big part of my day, but I test my code almost constantly. I usually have Notepad++ open with all the code related to the site I'm working on, the site itself up in Firefox and IE (and sometimes Opera and Netscape also), plus Gimp for quick image editing. After every 2 or 3 changes, I refresh everything just to make sure it's working the way I want. On the rare occasions I need to use a "real" language, I compile just as often.