• (3 Pages)
  • +

42 Replies - 5854 Views - Last Post: 05 April 2008 - 10:40 PM

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Programming style/habbits

Posted 19 March 2008 - 02:12 PM

Normally i just make a slapjack program for the programming class i take. After i make the first version and make sure it works, no matter how sloppy the code, I save it. Then i go back after i have it working and i make a more elegant program which allows me to have it done my way fast and then just go back and fix it up.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 19 March 2008 - 03:00 PM

I don't compile everytime I add a new block, but when I add new functionality. Then I build it and run the unit tests. If they succeed I have a little test application where I use the class like in a "real" use case. Double checking.

I'm a fast coder. This is, I belive, because I have unit tests and because I refactor a lot. It goes like this:
I write some code, look at it, refactor if needed, write some code, look at it, ect. As soon I have a new function, I write the unit test, build it and test it. Double check in my little test application.

Seems like a lot of work at first glance, but because my code is clean (refactoring) and tested I don't have to debug a lot and can save a lot of time.

Of course I need an IDE (I <3 NetBeans) to support me for all the refactoring I do. I'd never do it by hand in a texteditor :P
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Monkey in Training
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 19 March 2008 - 06:59 PM

You C-men have it tough :)

For PHP you just reupload and refresh; HTML / CSS is just saving and refreshing.

How long does it take to compile?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Bastard Operator From Hell
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 19 March 2008 - 08:15 PM