• +

28 Replies - 3393 Views - Last Post: 09 April 2008 - 05:03 PM

• Bassface
  • member icon

• View blog

Wanting to build my own computer

Posted 27 March 2008 - 04:49 AM

Hi

I had this idea that i wanted to build my own comp since i saw some cheap RAM in this shop :)

I know what i need:
Case

Motherboard

Processor

RAM

Drives (CD+R)

Monitor

I priced up a case at 40 .. it was like a custom designed one with neons and stuff and a few fans on the inside etc.

Motherboard: I am a complete noob when it comes to MB's what price should i be expecting to pay and does price matter with a mother board?

Processor: I was after a computer that could play COD4 and more so 2.4ghz + .. I went one a website that sold computers and the the CPU was 3.0ghz dual core so thats like 6.0ghz .. is that too good to be true? P.S what price for a 2.4ghz plus processor i donmt know what to look for in them :(

RAM : easy 1-4gig ram so i can have a 32 bit system and relatively cheap

Drives: NP quite cheap

Monitor: standard price for a 19" is 109

I have give you all this info to make sense of it for me and a general outline of the price. Would i be safer buying one and would it work out cheaper to buy one?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Wanting to build my own computer

• awake ? web();
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Wanting to build my own computer

Posted 27 March 2008 - 05:34 AM

I really enjoy building my own computers, and have never bought one pre-built. If you're wanting to build a games machine, it is worth buying good components so it may cost more but the performance increase is well worth it.

Motherboard: Buy Asus. Don't worry about on board graphics because for a games machine you'll need a dedicated graphics card. Depending on what exactly what you want, expect to pay 80-150 for a motherboard.