Bogus or not

• (2 Pages)
  • +

17 Replies - 2088 Views - Last Post: 08 April 2008 - 04:13 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Service Learning

Posted 27 March 2008 - 06:00 PM

Okay, I am a non-traditional student entering college for the first time at the age of 34 (shut up I'm old I know it). I find out today that my school is becoming 'progressive' and is the first four year in the state to mandate 30 hours of "service learning" for all students in order to graduate. To define it, service learning is community service for a grade.

I believe the implementation of "Service Learning" is not only a detriment to student development but beyond the scope of a state sponsored school. The whole idea of assigning someone to do community service eliminates the whole idea of it being a service. Instead of the student doing something for the betterment of his community he is now doing it to get a grade. Dependant on how high he wants to achieve, is how active he will become. If he does not care he will not do it. So it does not support community action by students on their own time, it teaches them they should be rewarded for being active in their community. Then there is the question of whether or not a state sponsored facility should be judging students on their morality or the perceived lack thereof. Is this not beyond their scope? Do we really want the state or even federal government telling us what our morals should be?

Anyway, I wanted to get some opinions from you guys before I get myself into trouble.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Service Learning

• Bug Juice Doesn't Come in a Jar
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Service Learning

Posted 27 March 2008 - 06:05 PM

I didn't actually read it but I am going to go with bogus.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• serial frotteur - RUDEST MEMBER ON D.I.C.
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 27 March 2008 - 06:33 PM

wrong forum for serious answers, moving it.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -