1 Replies - 1084 Views - Last Post: 18 April 2008 - 11:56 AM

#1 thientanchuong  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: 18-November 07

How to set up stuff with TOMCAT

Posted 18 April 2008 - 10:50 AM

Dear all,

I am now learning in school about JSP and try JSP on TOMCAT

with Tomcat , I do not have knowledge about, Can you teach me how to fix out some error when I set up Tomcat.

After getting zip of tomcat file, I unzip and put it to C directory so its path would be: C:\Tomcat

I create 1 folder call web in webapps subdirectory and WEB-INF inside of web, another called classes inside of WEB-INF . so this path should be: C:\Tomcat\webapps\WEB-INF\classes.

Next step. I create 1 file html call index.html in web folder, and another called web.xml in WEB-INF. (web.xml I copied from folder call example which is stored from the zip.)

now , i start the server and get the path: http://localhost:8080/ and have some questions :

question 1-- How can I remove 8080 so that link is shorter which should be http://localhost/ ? Or Can I change text " localhost " to any name I like ? How can I do it ?

question 2--, I use this path http://localhost:8080/web to store the html inside. However, I got message let me know it could not find resource named web , Why ??? How can I fix it ?

question 3-- I do not like the index page of tomcat when it presents, I want to change it, but where and how can I change it ?


I am looking forward to hearing the answers from you
, please help !!!

Regards

Hung

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How to set up stuff with TOMCAT

#2 no2pencil  Icon User is online

  • Head MFIC
  • member icon

Reputation: 5069
  • View blog
  • Posts: 26,456
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: How to set up stuff with TOMCAT

Posted 18 April 2008 - 11:56 AM

Answer to Question 1: http://www.klawitter.de/tomcat80.html

As far as changing the name of localhost, you'll have to enter that name into C:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts file, so that Windows can resolve the domain name to your local address of 127.0.0.1
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1