How to call a form located in folder B using the form located in folde

Page 1 of 1

4 Replies - 23385 Views - Last Post: 05 July 2011 - 08:25 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Combining Multiple Projects into a single one in VB.Net

Posted 19 April 2008 - 01:19 AM

Hia Everybody,

I am new to VB.Net [even to programming]. I am working on my Final year project in VB.Net and am facing the following problem:

I originally developed a simple application software [VB.Net + MS Access] (Lets call this project A) but now I want to include more functionality in it. I have an encryption/decryption software utility (Lets call this project B ) and a Text to speech generation utility(Lets call this project C) . That is, I want to add Projects B and C to project A. [Such that clicking on the main form of project A calls a form from project B or C as desired].

In solution explorer, I right clicked----->Add Existing Project----->and added both the above mentioned projects 1 by 1. (Added B and C to the solution explorer with the already present A).

BUT.....As the application software's (Project A's) main form is the main form of my project, I want to have a menu option on the main form (Of Project A) so that a user could click on one of the menu options and the main form of my other projects ( Project B or Project C or Encrypt/Decrypt or Voice Generation) should open by him doing so. To this effect, I tried the following:

1. I dragged the form simply from one of the projects (From B or C ) into the folder of my Application Software (Project A).......This generated a lot of Build errors and the Voice Generation utility (Prj. C) would not work like this.

2. Tried to reference a dll, however the authors of Projects B and C did not include a dll in their projects.

3. Now I came to know that to call a form residing in another project folder or even another folder within the same project, you have to give a path for the form. HOW DO WE DO THIS?