Becoming better at programming

• (2 Pages)
  • +

15 Replies - 1724 Views - Last Post: 05 May 2008 - 04:12 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Becoming better at programming

Posted 24 April 2008 - 02:54 PM

Hi, I'm relatively new to programming, I've been doing it for around six months and wish to get better. I find that the students in my class tend to solve problems faster than I do and sometimes I get very depressed about it. How can I improve my programming skills? Basically, I want to get to the point where one starts to "dream in code." :)

Thank you.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Becoming better at programming

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Becoming better at programming

Posted 24 April 2008 - 03:01 PM

Well, this is a good place to start. Also, get some books outside of your school textbooks (which I find to be more of reference type books in my experience.) Alot of these non-school books will walk you through the thought process and design of building an app and not just give you a bunch of syntax. Also, use google if you run into probs and as always you can post your code here and someone will help you. Put in the time and you'll be leaving those other kids in the dust in no time. Learning to program takes time but once you pick up the thought process your golden. From then out its just practice and more new syntax, but the overall idea stays the same. Which language are you learning BTW?

This post has been edited by Sonic88: 24 April 2008 - 03:02 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Barbarbar
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 24 April 2008 - 03:15 PM

Start some projects, to fulfill needs you currently have. That's how I've learned everything I know now - by working on things that interest me.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Dreaming Coder
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 24 April 2008 - 03:17 PM

Experience. Really, that's the key. If you want to be good at something, you want to do it a lot.