Coding a health bar in PHP?!?!

Page 1 of 1

4 Replies - 3076 Views - Last Post: 06 May 2008 - 05:23 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

PHP BBORPG help :)

Posted 30 April 2008 - 09:06 AM

Hello

I have been learning PHP for nearly 2 years now, still having great fun i might add!!

i would consider myself inbetween beginner and intermediate at the present.

im coding this game on my own, i did plan to do this with a friend but hes to busy at the moment :(

so im seeking your help :)

one section of my game, there is a turn based system, were you can challenge bosses, that are pre coded, its going well at the moment, but i dont know how to create a health bar system thats effective in PHP.

can anyone help?

also any useful tips for example secruity and etc would be fantastic :)

thanks so much

rpghero

This post has been edited by rpghero: 30 April 2008 - 09:07 AM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: PHP BBORPG help :)

• Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: PHP BBORPG help :)

Posted 30 April 2008 - 09:17 AM

Well health bars as you know are typically designed to be updated as the action happens in real time. Or in the case of turn based battle updated whenever damage is dealt or healing is to begin. It depends primarily on the way you have setup the boss scenario. If you are using standard page refreshes to "attack" and hit a submit button, you would then update the boss health bar according to its success, have your boss deal damage to your character and depending on its success, update your health stats, then render the page back to the user to show both attack results.

In a PHP game like this you just need to have the health bar visually show the user where they stand in health. Typically it will be the amount of life left of the available life given.