• (2 Pages)
  • +

19 Replies - 2609 Views - Last Post: 24 September 2008 - 03:26 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Why Do You Comment Your Code?

Post icon  Posted 01 May 2008 - 12:24 PM

{Mods, let me know if inappropriate}

I am a research professor at the New Mexico Institute of Technology and am conducting a study that deals with program comprehension. If you have time, I'm looking for professonal programmers to take a survey located at

http://www.senseandu...rvey/survey.php

Thank you for your help.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Why Do You Comment Your Code?

• Head DIC Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Why Do You Comment Your Code?

Posted 01 May 2008 - 12:28 PM

I'm going to feature this on the homepage and edit the title to "Why Do You Comment Your Code?" and move it to the software development forum.

Would you be so kind as to share your findings/results?

My brother and a good family friend goes to New Mexico Tech so anything I can do to support the program, let me know!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• The Innocent Shall Suffer, Big Time
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 01 May 2008 - 12:54 PM

Small world, My office across the hall from his class.

I've heard one of my coworkers talk a tiny bit about this, seems interesting and would like to see where it can go.

Interesting thing I do is, although I am the primary consumer of my own comments, I write them for others, because that makes more sense when I come back 2 years later and have forgotten most of the context surrounding it.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 01 May 2008 - 01:00 PM

Thanks for the support, I'll keep all posted with what I find. If you (or brother and friends) are at NMT, by all means say hello! I'd be happy to talk more about this (as all researchers would be happy to talk about their own research!)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 01 May 2008 - 07:33 PM