6 Replies - 12283 Views - Last Post: 22 January 2009 - 10:28 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Ping-Pong Keyboard controlled Paddles

Posted 05 May 2008 - 12:04 PM

Greetings,

I have done one of the tutorials on this site http://www.dreaminco...wtopic39686.htm creating a fully functional Ping-Pong program. Please be aware I am extremely new to any programming language and to VB.net itself.

After I completed the tutorial I went ahead to practice messing with things to help me learn and develop my own standards. I created things like two computers fighting each other.

I went ahead to attempt to create a Ping-Pong game that was for two players, clearly this was needed to be done on the keyboard, one on mouse and one on keyboard could give one a advantage so I decided that player one is "W = up" and "S = Down" player 2 is the arrows up and down.

The tutorial gave what seemed like a door to practice and fiddle with to try and attempt to complete this.

#Region "End Game on Escape Press"
	' Escape the game when escape has been pressed.
	Private Sub pongMain_KeyDown(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.Windows.Forms.KeyEventArgs) Handles Me.KeyDown
		If e.KeyValue = Keys.Escape Then
			Me.Close()
		End If
	End Sub
#End Region

So I messed around and finally came up with something like this

Private Sub frmPong_KeyDown(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.Windows.Forms.KeyEventArgs) Handles Me.KeyDown
		If e.KeyValue = Keys.W Then
			picPlayer1.Location = New Point(picPlayer1.Location.X + 5)
		End If
	End Sub

Of course I messed around a lot with this, I have been doing this type of thing all day since I woke up, nothing much else to do today, after much head banging I finally realised I will not crack it without assistants. This little bit of code shows you what I have tried to do.