2 Replies - 618 Views - Last Post: 20 May 2008 - 12:38 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

The first of many questions yet to come.

Post icon  Posted 20 May 2008 - 10:46 AM

Hello everyone. Thank you for taking the time to answer my question.

I have no real experience in programming and I am looking to do a whole lot of it. I have a lot of time and a string desire.

Let me be clear I am not a programmer; to me it is just a cost efective means to an end. Now let me get into the meat of what I want.

I am looking for advice on a starting point to reach my short term and long term goal.

My short term goal is to create a program that will help me manage my activities with online selling, mainly Ebay.

I want to be able to move a steady supply of inventory with little interaction, consisting mainly of unexpected events and progress management.

Most of that I can do with the seller tools that ebay offers, but thatís not all I want to do. The most important thing I want is to have the program record everything that happens.

I have made an Access database to record all kings of things, buyers, listings, items, sales, feedback; shipping... the only problem is I have to input all that info manually. It gets to be quite a problem when Iím adding 20 listings a day.

The other thing I want the program to do is automate communication with the bidders and buyers. I send various Emails at various times to each buyer.

My long term goal is to operate various websites and online retail locations with a big complicated automated mess.

So my questions to you areÖ

Where do I start? What programming language should I use to create the first program for recording data and sending emails? Some one said PEARL, is this good?

And how do I wan myself off of access and onto something better?

Also another more complicated question, I know there are better questions I should be asking but like I saidÖ Iím not a programmer, not yet at least, would you know of and such questions?