5 Replies - 858 Views - Last Post: 30 May 2008 - 12:32 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

This may be a stupid question

Post icon  Posted 29 May 2008 - 09:01 PM

Well hello how is everyone doing today? The title of my post says it all, the question may be a little stupid to ask but I'm a student so I'll ask it anyway.

My future goals include getting into programming and software and I was just wondering with all the different languages I'm going to be learning, "Do I also need my A+ certification?" And since most of you on this website have had a lot of real life experience in getting programming jobs, etc. you guys could probably answer this question pretty easily.

What does everyone think? And if the answer is "yes" do you put it on your resume or not? I did a little looking at the other resume thread on the boards and didn't see it on there. Is that because you don't need it or you just didn't put it on there because it's not super important in programming?

Hopefully someone can answer these questions, thanks everyone.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: This may be a stupid question

• Admiral Fancy Pants
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: This may be a stupid question

Posted 29 May 2008 - 09:06 PM

Need? No. Not in a million years.

Especially since A+ only covers basic computer fundamentals. If your career is in software development (programming), then it's irrelevant. It's like bringing in Merrit badges from Boy scouts.

Now... with that being said. What if you & some guy with similar skills & background applies for the job? You have A+ cert & he does not. Going into an interview, you want every advantage possible. An A+ cert will show that you took the time, & desire to better yourself at your cost of money & time. It shows you are serious.