2 Replies - 579 Views - Last Post: 04 June 2008 - 08:45 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

A Few Newbie Questions

Post icon  Posted 02 June 2008 - 08:56 PM

I have never used ASP.net and have had little web creating experience outside of front page....I am fairly new to C# but can manage my way around....My boss wants me to design a calendar for their website that can be linked to a database of somesort....So I know this is a really basic question, but I can't seem to find anything that explains this on the web...in design view how do you seperate things to place at different places on the page (like a floating text box or something)? Do you use panels? Any help or direction to help is appreciated! Thanks!

-Rusty

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: A Few Newbie Questions

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: A Few Newbie Questions

Posted 03 June 2008 - 10:09 AM

A panel is just a container control for ASP controls that are added programmatically, similar to the placeholder control.
Placing things in a specific position would be handled by putting the controls inside a div tag and specifying where they go with the corresponding css, which can also be manipulated through program logic..

View Postcbr4rusty, on 2 Jun, 2008 - 08:56 PM, said:

I have never used ASP.net and have had little web creating experience outside of front page....I am fairly new to C# but can manage my way around....My boss wants me to design a calendar for their website that can be linked to a database of somesort....So I know this is a really basic question, but I can't seem to find anything that explains this on the web...in design view how do you seperate things to place at different places on the page (like a floating text box or something)? Do you use panels? Any help or direction to help is appreciated! Thanks!

-Rusty

This post has been edited by crcapps: 03 June 2008 - 10:10 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon