1 Replies - 937 Views - Last Post: 05 June 2008 - 08:54 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Nonprogrammers and Programmers Coexistance in the Workplace

Posted 05 June 2008 - 06:23 AM

A few years ago I was a Software Engineer for all of 3 months of my college life. The experience was my first exposure to code, and given my inexperience and the learning curve I was expected to deal with (and not actually wanting to be a programmer for a living), I rejected the major and transfered to Industrial Engineering. All in all, I hated everything to do with the idea of programming anything.

After two internships working in IT related positions since then, several more classes exposing me to C++ and VB, and an internship in my actual field of study, my outlook on programming has changed.

It's actually been changed for sometime now.

For a long time I viewed computers as an extremely useful tool. My skills with the interfaces on computers have been developing since the age of 5, and as such I'm fairly proficient with a variety of applications. My parents have over 55 years of combined data processing experience, so it's fair to say that expectations dictated that I'd end up in some part of the field as well. This just isn't me though.

Yet, this sort of cultural upbringing and the corporate cultures of the environments I worked in has lead me to concluded that companies (like my most recent source of employment) need skilled programmers. The idea that you can develop a reasonable technical solution to a problem without one (this is probably several) isn't as likely as it once was.

Personally, I feel that people need to be able to have a basic understanding of at least a few programming languages, regardless of occupation, in order to suggest a reasonable solution. Yet, as in my field of study, there's a general attitude of fear, distrust, and general outright ignorance for code and coding practices [within industry from nonprogrammers].