Lazer sharpening my php skills.

I like to lazer sharp my php skills. Please help me.

Page 1 of 1

4 Replies - 1816 Views - Last Post: 06 June 2008 - 09:48 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Lazer sharpening my php skills.

Posted 06 June 2008 - 01:43 AM

hello friends,

i am writing php programs for last 2 years. I was nt a full time coder as i was a student. Now my course is over and now i like to lazer sharp my skills. Even though i had done about 10-12 projects in php, stil im feeling like im only a amature. So please suggest me some really hard Challenges for me to increase my knowldge. Some sites or really hard projects will be helpful. I also like de-buggin. so such kind of challeneges will also be really appriciated.

thankyou.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Lazer sharpening my php skills.

• Can grep dead trees!
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Lazer sharpening my php skills.

Posted 06 June 2008 - 08:39 AM

One really good way to work on your skill set is to answer posts here on DIC.

It can often take a good little bit of work to find a solution. Not only do you work on your coding skill, but also your research abilities (which are probably just a little more important -- at least once your reach a certain level of proficiency). You also work on your ability to read other people's code. You work on your debugging skills... Basically you get an all around good workout.

Another good way to sharpen your skills and earn Kudos is to look over the "request a tutorial" section and pick out a topic to research and write up.

Since you are talking about PHP another thing you need to do is to go out into the PHP world and look at the open source projects that are out there.

Download a content management system in PHP, set it up, and see if you can extend it with some neat features. Download a Forum system and add in some cool features. i.e. Get to know the products and technologies related to the PHP field.