Newbie, Looking for guidance

3 digit date + 3 digit assigned number

Page 1 of 1

3 Replies - 673 Views - Last Post: 11 June 2008 - 04:20 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Newbie, Looking for guidance

Post icon  Posted 10 June 2008 - 07:49 AM

Im mearling looking for guidance, not someone to do the code for me, i just started coding vb a couple of days ago, ive odne my hello world, i even made a form that works with an access database, but now the next task is to get a 3 digit date and ascending 3 digit number to be spawned each time the form is opend, to assign it a name so to speak.

Im also curious as to how i am going to convert the date into a 3 digit format. month then day
so today being: 611

like i said im looking for guidance, this isnt for homework, for me to see if i can make something, although i will say, im really getting into this.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Newbie, Looking for guidance

• Student of Life
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Newbie, Looking for guidance

Posted 10 June 2008 - 08:23 AM

Look to using a DateTime object. It has properties which allow you to get the month and day. You won't convert the date to a three digit number, so much as you will just concatenate the numbers together.

Hope that helps.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 10 June 2008 - 08:36 AM

well ive come up with this, but i now need to figure out how to add 3 more numbers to it, based on an access database id i would think would be the easiest way.

Dim result As String = Now.Month.ToString + Now.Day.ToString
Me.TextBox1.Text = result

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 11 June 2008 - 04:20 AM

Im also curious as to how i am going to convert the date into a 3 digit format. month then day
so today being: 611

DerianWeidman,

You say you are looking for a "3 digit date" with an "ascending 3 digit number".