14 Replies - 1969 Views - Last Post: 06 July 2008 - 06:17 PM

• I'm pretty good with a laser mouse..
  • member icon

• View blog

How do you deal with people?

Posted 19 June 2008 - 12:05 PM

How do you deal with people in the office, or just in general, who don't know jack about dick of what you do? I'm a programmer for a small state/fed. office, It's in Alaska so we don't exactly have our own IT dept. So occasionally I have to deal with regular user technical issues.

Just yesterday I installed some new software on a few of the user's computers. Now today, I have to deal with our administrative manager riding my ass about how she can't scroll up and down with here track ball mouse, she can only scroll left in right, (only in Excel). And since it wasn't like that yesterday, It's my fault.

I just tell her to deal with it and that I need to do some research on it. That's about the only thing you can say to people like that until they go for lunch so you can take a look at it and fix whatever problems they created themselves. Because if I did it in froont of them I would be inclined to yell, "HEY, YOU FREAKIN IDIOT.... LOOK WHAT YOOOU DID!". But I'm nice, and I'll wait until they leave...

I was wondering how you guys deal with stupid, stubborn people. Or should I start taking some anger management classes?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How do you deal with people?

• Head DIC Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: How do you deal with people?

Posted 19 June 2008 - 12:08 PM

Moved to the "Corner Cubicle"
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 no2pencil  Icon User is online

• Admiral Fancy Pants
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 19 June 2008 - 12:15 PM

View PostWinstinology, on 19 Jun, 2008 - 03:05 PM, said:

I'm a programmer for a small state/fed. office, It's in Alaska so we don't exactly have our own IT dept.