Basic Browser Game Languages

Php, Flash, Javascript...

Page 1 of 1

8 Replies - 2175 Views - Last Post: 25 June 2008 - 07:51 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Basic Browser Game Languages

Post icon  Posted 24 June 2008 - 11:56 AM

Hello everyone. I am once again bored with the usual browser based games that help me pass time at work. And in that newly found free time born of boredom I got the idea to try to make my own.

Before we go on, a little about me. I am a EET graduate and know assembly, C/C++, html and web hosting, and various vendor specific languages.

No, I don't want a MMORPG...I read the sticky!... I don't want 3d or even anything that flashy. I just want to get some experience at a mundane starting point. I know I need a database, a GUI, and html. The problem is I have no experience with databases! I read the w3 tutorial of php, but I'm not sure if that is a decent solution. As for the GUI...I am guessing flash would be easy enough to implement. Though I have seen plenty of Javascript/Flash arguments to know that javascript would probably be just as good.

I know there is no one language to solve every problem, I am not looking for one. And please no java/flash arguments... Lets just get out some basics!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Basic Browser Game Languages

• Barbarbar
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Basic Browser Game Languages

Posted 24 June 2008 - 12:18 PM

Generally, browsergames are built in PHP or Perl - although ASP.Net, Ruby on Rails, and Python/Django have also been used(and are starting to be used more).
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 24 June 2008 - 12:28 PM

View Postgirasquid, on 24 Jun, 2008 - 12:18 PM, said:

Generally, browsergames are built in PHP or Perl - although ASP.Net, Ruby on Rails, and Python/Django have also been used(and are starting to be used more).