This is not a "Help me make a MMORPG" post...

Need some direction

• (3 Pages)
  • +

31 Replies - 4718 Views - Last Post: 01 July 2009 - 02:45 AM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Addict

• View blog

This is not a "Help me make a MMORPG" post...

Post icon  Posted 28 June 2008 - 06:04 AM

Long time viewer, first time poster...

I am making my own game (like you havn't heard that before). I have had so much problems with learning C++ it isn't funny, so I really began with VB.net which I started learning from the classes at school. I have found it easier to write my code in VB and I am able to understand it better when trying to convert it to C++.

So, I have my first spiffy game...started small and made my own slot machine game with 9 reels, lots of timers, and tons of code written for the prizes...fairly simple, just really long (and in VB.NET :P ) with ripped graphics and all, other than the interface which I designed. Had a problem with scrolling of the wheels and am dropping this right now. So I move on to making the game I always have, my 2D non-massive MORPG. Initially this is going to be a graphical chat window with collision detection. There are engines already made for something of this nature, but none are open sourced that I have found so I can understand the process better, and using something that is premade will help a lot, but take fun out of learning to do it myself.

I am not here to ask how to make a MMORPG...I am trying to understand how they work a bit better. I know this will take A LOT of time, but time is all I have...I know for a game like this I will want:

Database - to save character info
Server - that will send game info to client
Client - for people to see info coming from the server
Map Editor - for ummm, editing maps? :D