Computer Science

I'm thinking of taking that as my major...

Page 1 of 1

8 Replies - 2125 Views - Last Post: 08 July 2008 - 03:08 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Computer Science

Posted 03 July 2008 - 10:39 PM

Hello, I'm new here.

I'm a Sophomore in High School and I want to take Computer Science as my major for when I go to college (if?). I'm ready to make changes if it doesn't work out but this is what I'm thinking right now and have been for the last year or so.

I'm already teaching myself C++ to get a headstart and to really see if this line of work is something I want to do for a lifetime. I don't want to be one of those guys who goes headlong into college with little to no prior experience in his chosen major.

The thing is, the highest level of math that I can take is Algebra 2 because I'm going into Geometry next year and Algebra 2 the year after. I know Computer Science heavily revolves around math and I have no problem with that. I don't really think I have a problem with math either, it's just I'm an under-achiever and that can seriously affect what classes you can take the following year. Because of my laziness and carelessness I can't take Trig or Calculus as a Senior.

So I'm thinking of going to a Community College first to get my core classes down and to take those needed math classes.

Right now I'm a bit confused because I don't know if this is a "pipe-dream" ready to fall apart. And I really don't know how my abilities stack up against the odds. Considering the fact that I'll be taking a lower level math class then is expected for those who usually or are planning to pursue this major, I really can't tell I'm just wasting time thinking about it.

I'd really like to get involved with something do with Computers, IT or Software Development or something similar but I'm not sure how I'll fare...

So if you could help me out of this predicament, offer words of wisdom and advice, that would be helpful. Thanks for your time. :)