6 Replies - 892 Views - Last Post: 14 July 2008 - 08:28 AM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Email Application

Posted 11 July 2008 - 07:20 PM

I'm very new at php, but I've been paying attention in my C programming class so I can catch on very quick. (I see some similarities or functions that I recognize)

Anyways, I use Cubcart V3 ecomerce system, and I think it would be great to be able to add a way to check the store's email via the admin panel.

It really just needs to be a simple email program, being able to check for messages and download them to the correct folder, sending messages, deleting them would be nice to.

If there is anyone here willing to teach me how to pull off a project like this, I am willing to learn, or if anyone knows where I can get a free crash course in php scripting, that'd be awesome to.

Thanks in advanced.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Email Application

• Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Email Application

Posted 12 July 2008 - 04:47 PM

Well before you start on the email part of your PHP page, you will want to have played around quite a bit with some PHP code before attempting it. Just because it not only involves PHP but also understanding some of how POP3 works. Below are some tutorial sites you can check out for learning...

PHP Tutorial - HTML Goodies

Introduction to PHP Programming - Developer Tutorials

PHP Manual - PHP.NET (Bookmark this, you will need it from time to time)

The code below provides you an introduction of how to access email using PHP and making your own email reader like all the ISPs do it.

PHPit - Read your e-mail with PHP tutorial

That should be quite a bit to get you started. Enjoy and good luck. :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Lover

• View blog

Posted 13 July 2008 - 09:15 AM

Here's a really good PHP tutorial that will probably help you along with the one's listed above:

PHP tutorial